I was so excited. I was shopping for groceries and notice a package of wonton wrappers on sale for $1.00. Yes, I know that wonton wrappers will almost always contain eggs. However, they were in the vegetarian section of the food case and I am a hopeless optimist when it comes to finding vegan food. When I checked the ingredients the only thing listed under allergies was wheat, which isn’t a problem for me. Then I checked the cholesterol, 0! Looking good, I could almost taste the vegan wontons stuffed with vegan cream cheese. Then I noticed L-cysteine on the ingredient list. What the heck is L-cysteine?
Pulling out my smart phone and typing L-cysteine into the search I already knew it probably wasn’t going to be good.
Ever get grossed out by finding a hair in your food? Well…
What is L-cysteine made of? It is most commonly made from human hair, duck feathers, or occasionally pig bristles and hooves. And don’t think that L-cysteine is only in wonton wrappers. It is also commonly found in pizza dough, bread rolls and pastries. Some synthetic versions are available but they are very expensive. I’m pretty sure my $1.00 package of wonton wrappers did not include the synthetic variety. But I’m not taking any changes. Vegan or not, I have no desire to eat anything that is made from hair. That is just wrong.
For now I’m off to look up vegan recipes for wonton wrappers.